Laivurinrinne 2
			00120 Helsinki
			ke-pe 12-18, la 11-16
			Puhelin (09) 638 816
			eronen at dubjazzsalsa dot com

Studio One Rockers (2LP) ( LP )

Various Artists-Studio One Rockers (2LP)
24 €




Reggae dub Soul Jazz
Tuotteen kuvaus:  
1. Sound Dimension — Real Rock
2. Marcia Griffiths — Feel Like Jumping
3. Freddy Mcgregor — Bobby Babylon
4. Horace Andy — Skylarking
5. Lennie Hibbert — Village Soul
6. Brentford All-Stars — Greedy G
7. Johnny Osbourne — Truth And Rights
8. Ernest Ranglin — Surfin
9. Michigan & Smiley — Eye Of Danger
10. Dawn Penn — No, No, No
11. The Skatalites — Phoenix City
12. Prince Jazzbo — Crabwalking
13. Jackie Mittoo — Hot Milk
14. Lone Ranger — Badder Dan Dem
15. Cedric Brooks — Ethiopia


Following on from the success of the 100% Dynamite series, here we enter the vaults of the most important Reggae label of all time, Studio One. Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of Reggae music.

The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field.

Studio One Rockers features many legendary Studio One tracks brought together for the first time by Soul Jazz Records.

From the beginning of Reggae, when the Skatalites developed a new sound of Ska in 1962 up until today, Studio One has been the number one innovator in Jamaican music. Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks ("Phoenix City"), Rocksteady ("Feel Like Jumping"), Roots music ("Truth and Rights"), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more.

Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn's legendary "No, No, No" to classics such as Horace Andy's "Skylarking" and Marcia Griffith's "Feel Like Jumping".

The Coxsone Soundsystem in the early 60s was one of the three main soundsystems operating in Jamaica alongside his competitors, Prince Buster and Duke Reid.

The Studio One catalogue is possibly the largest in Jamaican music and this release is the first in a series of Studio One compilations on Soul Jazz Records.

This album comes with an in depth interview with Mr C.S. Dodd, about how he set up and ran his record label in the 1960s and 1970s.